Registration is open for the 2024 ASRM Scientific Congress & Expo

Close Close Icon

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism In Medicine Award For Practicing Physicians

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award for Practicing Physicians honors an ASRM member who as a practicing physician has best demonstrated the ideals of compassionate and respectful care for a patient’s physical and emotional well-being. The recipient of the Award should:

  • Demonstrate significant patient advocacy
  • Demonstrate compassion and empathy in the delivery of patient care
  • Display competence in scientific endeavors
  • Show respect for patients, families and co-workers
  • Demonstrate cultural sensitivity in working with patient and family members of diverse backgrounds
  • Display effective, empathic communication and listening skills
  • Understand a patient’s need for interpretation of complex medical diagnoses and treatments and make an effort to ensure patient comprehension
  • Understand and show respect for the patient’s viewpoint
  • Be sensitive to the patient’s psychological well-being and identify emotional concerns of patients and family members
  • Engender trust and confidence
The award is from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Nominations may be submitted by members of the Society by May 24, 2024. Questions? Contact

Each nomination must include

  • A letter of nomination
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae and a summary of accomplishments in the field of patient care in reproductive medicine.
  • Each nomination must be accompanied by letters of support from at least two additional members of the Society. ASRM members may nominate themselves. A candidate must have been a member of ASRM for at least one year prior to nomination for the award.

Selection of the award recipient will be made by the Executive Committee of the ASRM based on the candidate’s record of achievement and recognition as an outstanding empathic physician.

The recipient will be notified and will be recognized as the recipient of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award by presentation of a plaque.

Recipients of this prestigious award automatically become members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS), a national society with over 200 established chapters at medical schools throughout the country and growing rapidly, providing access to attend conferences and events and to meet and exchange ideas with like-minded colleagues and members from other institutions.

The recipient will also be provided with free registration for the Scientific Congress.

Supported by a gift from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Congratulations to the 2023 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award for Practicing Physicians Recipient

Arnold_Gold_Winner.jpgDr. Sigal Klipstein is a clinician specializing in reproductive endocrinology and infertility. She practices at InVia Fertility Specialists in Chicago. She completed her residency and fellowship at Harvard University, during which time she was selected to join the Medical Ethics Fellowship at the Harvard Center for Bioethics. In addition to running a clinical practice, she writes and lectures on reproductive ethics, fertility over forty, and oocyte cryopreservation. She formerly chaired the ACOG Committee on Ethics and is currently the Chair of the ASRM Ethics Committee. She feels strongly that her clinical care informs her ethics work and vice versa, and is pleased to be able to unite these two interests as she continues to pursue her clinical and academic careers. Dr. Klipstein is a member of the newly established Donor Conceived People Task Force and has previously contributed to the Embryo Research Task Force for ASRM. She enjoys participating in medical student and resident education in her role as assistant professor at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine.

Previous Recipients of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award for Practicing Physicians:

2023 Sigal Klipstein, MD
2022 Samuel C. Pang, MD
2021 Gloria Richard-Davis, MD
2020 Alicia Y. Christy, MD and William E Gibbons, MD
2019 Mark D. Hornstein, MD
2018 Eve C. Feinberg, MD
2017 Gilbert L. Mottla, MD
2016 Selwyn Oskowitz, MD
2015 Jason S. Griffith, MD
2014 Richard Dickey, MD, PhD

Endowed Awards

View these ASRM Scientific Congress Endowed Awards
Distinguished Researcher Award teaser

ASRM Distinguished Researcher Award

This award acknowledges a member who made significant clinical or basic research contributions to reproduction published in the past 10 years, with a long-term commitment to advancing research in reproductive sciences and educating future scholars in the field.
Lifetime Achievement teaser

ASRM Lifetime Achievement Award

This award honors a member of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine who has made exemplary contributions to the field of reproduction during their career. The recipient will have demonstrated innovation, leadership, and other scholarly accomplishments that have a lasting impact on advancing clinical care, the frontiers of research in reproductive sciences, and the education of the scientific community.
Simon Award teaser

Carlos Simón Excellence in Translational Research Award

The Carlos Simón Excellence in Translational Research Award honors an individual who has demonstrated originality and creativity through discovery and made a substantial contribution to the field of Reproductive Medicine resulting in changes or improved clinical practice.

Rosenwaks award teaser

Ira And Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Award

This award recognizes exceptional clinical/basic research contributions in reproductive sciences published within 10 years post residency/postdoc/fellowship. It requires original, independent and impactful research contributions, considering conceptual breakthroughs, impact on allied fields, and development of new methodologies.
Kavoussi Award teaser

Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award

The Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award honors an ASRM member who is recognized as an outstanding educator in undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, professional or patient education in the area of basic and/or clinical reproductive biology and medicine.
Suheil Muasher award teaser

Suheil J. Muasher, MD, Distinguished Service Award

This award honors individuals or organizations, whether ASRM members or not, for distinguished service to the ASRM, reproductive medicine, and patients. Selection is based on contributions to scientific, leadership, organizational, political, or societal service, including previous nominees.

Congress Awards

Congress Endowed Awards Teaser
Congress Awards

ASRM Scientific Congress Endowed Awards

The ASRM Scientific Congress Endowed Awards are specially funded and awardees are chosen via an organization-wide nomination process and awarded at the ASRM Scientific Congress.

View the Endowed Awards
Congress Abstract Awards Teaser
Congress Awards

ASRM Scientific Congress Abstract Awards

Abstract Awards are granted in recognition of outstanding research and are chosen by ASRM Affiliated Societies, Professional Groups, Special Interest Groups and ASRM.

View the Abstract Awards
Congress Member Recognition Awards Teaser
Congress Awards

ASRM Scientific Congress Member Recognition

The ASRM Service Milestone Award and Star Awards recognize milestones for service and presenting at the ASRM Scientific Congress respectively.

View the Recognition Awards

ASRM Congress

ASRM 2024 Denver logo

Featured Event

ASRM 2024 Scientific Congress and Expo
Equity, Access, and Innovation
October 19-23, 2024
Denver, Colorado, USA
Visit the ASRM Congress Website