Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award

The Award is made possible through an educational endowment from K.M. Kavoussi, M.D., Homa Kavoussi, Shahryar Kavoussi, M.D., M.P.H., Mehryar Kavoussi, J.D., Parviz Kavoussi, M.D., and Austin Fertility & Reproductive Medicine/Westlake IVF.

The Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award honors an ASRM member who is recognized as an outstanding educator in undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, professional or patient education in the area of basic and/or clinical reproductive biology and medicine.

Nominations may be submitted by members of the Society to by June 4, 2021.
Each nomination must include
  • A letter of nomination
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae,
  • Summary of educational accomplishments and awards in the field of reproductive medicine and biology
  • Letters of support from at least two (2) additional members of the Society.

ASRM members may nominate themselves.

Candidates must have been a member of ASRM for at least one year prior to nomination for the Award.

Selection of the Award recipient is made by the Executive Committee of the ASRM and is based primarily on the candidate’s record of achievement and recognition as an outstanding teacher and mentor at the institutional, local, regional, national or international level. Sustained achievement in the fields of professional, scientific and/or patient education is an important consideration in selection for the award.

The recipient will be recognized as the recipient of the Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award by presentation of a plaque at the ASRM Scientific Congress & Expo. In addition, the recipient will be provided with free registration for the Scientific Congress, roundtrip economy airfare, and up to $800 for two days accommodations in the ASRM hotel room block, meals and ground transportation.

Congratulations to the 2020 Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award Recipient

Leon Speroff, MDThe 2020 recipient of the Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award is Leon Speroff, M.D., Oregon Health and Science University.

Dr. Speroff is a leader in the field of reproductive endocrinology, menopause, hormone replacement therapy, and contraception. He founded the journal, Prostaglandins, focused on the role of prostaglandins in ovulation, luteolysis, and the induction of labor. He also has led research on estrophasic dosing in contraception, providing a new approach to contraception. Dr. Speroff is a Past President of ASRM.
Previous recipient of the Kavoussi Family Outstanding Teacher Award:
2014 Paul G. McDonough, M.D.
2015 Robert A. Godke, Ph.D.
2016 James H. Segars, M.D.
2017 Marc Goldstein, M.D., D.SC., (HON.)
2018 Suheil J. Muasher, M.D.
2019 Sandra A. Carson, M.D.
2020 Leon Speroff, MD

Quick Links

Learn More About ASRM

Thousands of doctors, nurses, and other professionals in the field of reproductive medicine are advancing their careers with the latest news, continuing education, discounts, and networking opportunities. 

Ready to Join?  |  Renew