Ira And Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Award

(supported by an endowment from Zev Rosenwaks, M.D.)

This award recognizes a member of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine who has made outstanding contributions to clinical or basic research in reproductive sciences published within ten (10) years after receiving a doctoral degree or completing residency/postdoctoral/fellowship training. The recipient will have made original research contributions that significantly impact the field independently of his or her mentors. Other factors to be considered in making the award will include conceptual breakthrough, the significance of the research to allied fields of investigation, and development of new and innovative clinical or research methodologies.

Nominations may be submitted by members of the Society to by June 3, 2022.

Nominations must include:

  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae,
  • A summary of research accomplishments in the field of reproductive medicine,
  • Letters of support from at least two (2) senior members of the Society and/or scientific collaborators attesting to the originality and significance of the work..

The recipient will be selected by the Executive Committee. Previous nominees will be considered. The recipient will be recognized as the Ira and Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Awardee by presentation of a plaque at the ASRM Scientific Congress & Expo.

In addition, the recipient will be provided with free registration for the Scientific Congress in the year of the award, airfare/travel expenses up to $500, and up to $600 for two days hotel accommodations in the ASRM hotel room block, meals and ground transportation.

Congratulations to the 2022 Ira and Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Award Recipient

This year the Ira and Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Award, supported by an endowment from Zev Rosenwaks, MD, goes to Audrey J. Gaskins, ScD. Audrey Gaskins, ScD is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Epidemiology at the Emory University Rollins School of Public Health. She earned her Doctoral Degree in Nutrition and Epidemiology from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. This training was preceded by a Bachelor’s Degree in Engineering from Duke University. As a reproductive and environmental epidemiologist, Dr. Gaskins’ research uses creative study designs and methodologies to advance the science in environmental, dietary, and lifestyle influences on human reproduction. Her research, which includes 145 papers, has been cited over 3,500 times and resulted in many awards including multiple NIEHS Extramural Science Papers of the Month, the Best New Researcher Award from the International Society of Environmental Epidemiology, and the Rising Star Award from the Society of Pediatric and Perinatal Research. She has been the principal investigator of three research grants from the NIEHS including a recently completed K99/R00 award on maternal exposure to air pollution and early pregnancy outcomes, an ongoing R01 focused on air pollution and fertility among couples undergoing donor oocyte ART, and a newly awarded R21 on extreme heat and human reproduction using national ART surveillance data.

Dr. Gaskins serves on the executive board of the Nutrition and Environmental Special Interest Group of ASRM and as a member-at-large for the Society for Pediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologic Research. She is currently a methodological editor for Fertility & Sterility and on the editorial board for the International Journal of Hygiene and Environmental Health.

Previous recipients of the Ira and Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Award:

2022 Audrey J. Gaskins, ScD
2021 Amanda N. Kallen, M.D
2020 Ranjith Ramasamy, M.D.
2019 Samuel Zev Williams, M.D., Ph.D.
2018 Michael L. Eisenberg, M.D.
2017 Helen G. Tempest, Ph.D.
2016 Marla E. Lujan, Ph.D.
2015 Erica E. Marsh, M.D.
2014 Jorge E. Chavarro, M.D., Sc.D.
2013 Nathan R. Treff, Ph.D.
2012 Clarisa R. Gracia, M.D., M.S.C.E.
2011 Lubna Pal, M.B.B.S., M.S.
2010 Ayman Al-Hendy, M.D., Ph.D.
2009 Emre Seli, M.D.
2008 William H. Catherino, M.D., Ph.D.
2007 Elizabeth A. McGee, M.D.
2006 Anuja Dokras, M.D., Ph.D.

Quick Links

Learn More About ASRM

Thousands of doctors, nurses, and other professionals in the field of reproductive medicine are advancing their careers with the latest news, continuing education, discounts, and networking opportunities. 

Ready to Join?  |  Renew