

Impacting Reproductive Care Worldwide

Officers

Michael A. Thomas, MD President

Paula Amato, MD President-Elect

Elizabeth Ginsberg, MD Vice President

Marcelle I. Cedars, MD Immediate Past President

Hugh S. Taylor Past President

James Toner, MD, PhD Secretary - Treasurer

Administration

Jared C. Robins, MD, MBA Executive Director

Sean Tipton, MA Chief Advocacy and Policy Officer

Dan Carre, CPA, MBA Chief Financial Officer

D. Lee Pearce, MSW, MSHA Chief Operating Officer

Chevis Shannon, DrPH, MPH, MBA, MERC Chief Education & Science Officer Office of the Governor Iowa State Capitol 1007 East Grand Avenue Des Moines, IA 50319

Dear Governor Reynolds,

On behalf of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), I am writing to express strong opposition to <u>HSB 225</u> and SSB 1223 which would curtail the reproductive rights of the residents of Iowa and leave many without access to vital family planning care.

ASRM is a multidisciplinary organization of nearly 8,000 professionals dedicated to the advancement of the art, science, and practice of reproductive medicine. Distinguished members of ASRM include obstetricians and gynecologists, urologists, reproductive endocrinologists, embryologists, mental health professionals and others.

Iowa's motto, "Our liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain," echo the thoughts of the majority of Iowans who believe that the government shouldn't intervene in the relationship between a patient and physician. In passing an abortion ban, Iowa will lose qualified physicians, who seek to practice in states that do not criminalize their practice. I urge you to protect the health of Iowans and let them make their own medical decisions.

For more information, feel free to contact me or Sean Tipton, Chief Advocacy and Policy officer at <u>Stipton@asrm.org</u> or 202-421-5112.

Sincerely,

hulaza my

Dr. Michael Thomas President American Society for Reproductive Medicine