

#### Officers

Michael A. Thomas, MD President

Paula Amato, MD President-Elect

Elizabeth Ginsberg, MD Vice President

Marcelle I. Cedars, MD Immediate Past President

Hugh S. Taylor Past President

James Toner, MD, PhD Secretary - Treasurer

#### Administration

Jared C. Robins, MD, MBA Executive Director

Sean Tipton, MA Chief Advocacy and Policy Officer

Dan Carre, CPA, MBA Chief Financial Officer

D. Lee Pearce, MSW, MSHA Chief Operating Officer

Chevis Shannon, DrPH, MPH, MBA, MERC Chief Education & Science Officer House Committee on Health and Human Services 300 SW 10th Avenue Topeka, KS 66612

3/29/23

Dear Chair Landwehr, Vice Chair Eplee, and members of the Committee,

On behalf of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), I am writing to express strong opposition to <u>HB 2439</u> which would curtail the reproductive health of the residents of Kansas and leave some facing lifethreatening risk.

ASRM is a multidisciplinary organization of nearly 8,000 professionals dedicated to the advancement of the art, science, and practice of reproductive medicine. Distinguished members of ASRM include obstetricians and gynecologists, urologists, reproductive endocrinologists, embryologists, mental health professionals and others.

HB 2439 seeks to provide people who need abortions with information regarding their options; however, what the bill does not take into account is that "abortion reversal" is both an unscientific and medically unsound procedure. In fact, a prior study on reversing the use of mifepristone was stopped because attempting reversal led to severe hemorrhage, threatening the lives of the women undergoing treatment. HB 2439 would put Kansan women at risk by touting this medically unsound and unsafe process.

I strongly urge you to oppose the passage of HB 2439.

For more information, feel free to contact me or Sean Tipton, our Chief Advocacy and Policy officer at <a href="mailto:Stipton@asrm.org">Stipton@asrm.org</a> or 202-421-5112.

Sincerely,

Michael A. Thomas, MD

Andaga my



# Impacting Reproductive Care Worldwide

## Officers

Michael A. Thomas, MD President

Paula Amato, MD President-Elect

Elizabeth Ginsberg, MD Vice President

Marcelle I. Cedars, MD Immediate Past President

Hugh S. Taylor Past President

James Toner, MD, PhD Secretary - Treasurer

## Administration

Jared C. Robins, MD, MBA Executive Director

Sean Tipton, MA Chief Advocacy and Policy Officer

Dan Carre, CPA, MBA Chief Financial Officer

D. Lee Pearce, MSW, MSHA Chief Operating Officer

Chevis Shannon, DrPH, MPH, MBA, MERC Chief Education & Science Officer

## President

American Society for Reproductive Medicine