News & Publications

Name Change for Branch as NICHD Reorganizes

January 10 , 2013

After 33 years as the Reproductive Sciences Branch, the branch will now be known as the Fertility and Infertility (FI) Branch.  This name change came about as a result of the recent NICHD Visioning exercise in which the extramural programs were reorganized.  The reorganization saw the abolishment of its administrative center structure which included the Center for Population Research, and creation of a Division of Extramural Research.  Dr. Catherine Spong, M.D., was recently appointed Associate Director for Extramural Research and will head the new Division. Also, two new branches were established with name changes occurring for a host of other extramural branches besides ours.

Most of the program portfolios relevant to ASRM members will remain in FI except the Reproductive Medicine Gynecology Program which has migrated to the new Gynecologic Health and Disease Branch (GHDB) along with the Urogynecology Program from the former Contraceptive and Reproductive Health Branch.  The GHDB will provide oversight of applications dealing with Gynecologic conditions such as fibroids, endometriosis, vulvodynia and disorders of the pelvic floor, as well as their co-morbidities (other than infertility) including chronic pelvic pain.  The Women’s Reproductive Health Research (WRHR) Career Development Program established in the old Reproductive Sciences Branch will migrate to GHDB.  A search is underway for the GHDB Branch Chief position.

Along with our eight flagship research program portfolios, programmatic oversight of the Reproductive Medicine Network (RMN), the Specialized Cooperative Centers Program in Reproduction and Infertility Research (SCCPIR), the Reproductive Scientist Development Program (RSDP) and the Cooperative Research Partnerships to Promote Workforce Diversity in the Reproductive Sciences (CPDR) Program will remain in FI.  Finally, you will be happy to know that the current staff of the former Reproductive Sciences Branch, namely Esther Eisenberg, Charisee Lamar, Stuart Moss, Neelakanta Ravindranath (Ravi), Susan Taymans and Koji Yoshinaga, will remain in FI, thereby ensuring that you will continue receiving the exceptional service you have come to expect from a dedicated group of individuals that I have the privilege of working with every day.  

Please visit for a complete listing and description of extramural branches and for the formal announcement of the new Division of Extramural Research. 

This Web page contains links to miscellaneous NIH announcements that ASRM felt were relevant enough to archive on the ASRM Web Site.


View Details
Learn More | Join | Renew
Back to Top