About Us


MHPG Board 2014-2015

Piave P. Lake, M.D.

Chair-Elect / Newsletter Editor
Angela Lawson, Ph.D.

Vice Chair / Scientific Program Chair
Shelley Lee, Ph.D.

Erica Mindes, Ph.D.

Immediate Past Chair
Claudia Pascale, Ph.D.

Past Chair
Julianne Zweifel, Ph.D.

Past Chair
Corinne Palatchi, Ph.D.

MHPG Committee Chairs

MHPG Abstract Committee Chair
Janet Takefman, Ph.D.

MHPG Bylaws, Policies & Procedures Committee Chair
Nanetter Elster, J.D., M.P.H.

MHPG E-Communications Committee Chair
Elizabeth Grill, Psy. D.

MHPG Continuing Education Committee Chair
Julia Woodward, Ph.D.

MHPG Educational Resources Committee Chair
Tara Simpson, Ph.D.

MHPG Membership Committee Chair
Rachel Wernicke, Ph.D.

MHPG Mentoring and Training in Infertility Committee Chair
Patricia Sachs, L.C.S.W.

MHPG New York City Regional Education Dinner Committee Chair
Joann Galst, Ph.D.

MHPG Scientific Development Committee Chair
Joanna Scheib, Ph.D.

Connections Teleconference Group Committee Member-at-Large
Janet Jaffe, Ph.D.

MHPG Task Force Chairs

Oocyte Cryopreservation Task Force
Lisa Schuman, M.S.W.

MHPG Representatives to Other Groups

MHPG Representative for APA CEU Issues
Julia Woodward, Ph.D.

MHPG Representative to the ASRM Content Review Committee
Elizabeth Grill, Psy.D.

MHPG Representative to the ASRM Ethics Committee
Jean Benward, M.S.W. (2011-2014)

MHPG Representative to the ASRM Membership Committee
Julianne E. Zweifel, Ph.D.

MHPG Representative to the ASRM Patient Education Committee
Elaine Gordon, Ph.D. (2011-2014)

MHPG Representative to the ASRM Scientific Program Committee
Angela Lawson Ph.D. (2014)

MHPG Representative for NASW CEU Issues
Sharon Covington, M.S.W.

MHPG Representative to SART
Andrea Braverman, Ph.D.

ASRM Membership Committee Chair
Margot Weinshel, L.C.S.W, R.N.

Mental Health Professional Group (MHPG)

The Mental Health Professional Group (MHPG) is a multidisciplinary group that formed in 1985 with the full support of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM). Its mission is to promote scientific understanding of the psychological, social, and emotional perspectives of infertility patients.

2014-2015 MHPG Board

The MHPG would like to welcome its newest members! Catherine Benedict, Ph.D.-New York, NY Erin Donnelly,M.Ed, Psy.D.-Kansas City, KS Dorothy Doyle, M.A.-Rockville, MD Rachel Foster, M.A. -Costa Mesa, CA Pamela Kelberg, M.S.W. -Bala Cynwyd, PA Kathryn Vaclavik, J.D., M.A. -Pacific Palisades, CA Jamie Wilson, Ph.D. -Dallas, TX Tonya Wood, Ph.D.-Los Angeles, CA Liberty Barnes, Ph.D.-Cambridge, UK Nancy Hemenway, B.A.-Clifton, VA Mary Murphey, B.A.-Madison, WI Rebecca Varner -New Castle, NH

Resources & Publications
Member Information

Sign me up for the MHPG!

All active members of the ASRM may join the MHPG. The interdisciplinary nature of the MHPG provides a forum for the exchange of information, ideas, and experiences, as well as the opportunity to form collegial relationships with others who share your concerns. These discussions and alliances are important at a time when reproductive health care professionals are confronting a host of clinical and ethical challenges that have - and will continue to have - an impact on individuals, families, and society at large.

  • Find an MHPG Member- search for a healthcare professional

  • ASRM members can search for colleagues by using the Member Directory accessible from their My Info page (requires login)

Of Interest to Members
Professional Development Resources


View Details
Learn More | Join | Renew

Would you like more info?

American Society for Reproductive Medicine
1209 Montgomery Highway
Birmingham, AL 35216

Kara Welch, MHPG Coordinator
Tel: 205-978-5000 ext. 134
Fax: 205-978-5005
Email: kwelch@asrm.org 

Back to Top